As a non-maintained special school we have both Trustees and Governors. You can download here our Code of Conduct for HLSC Trustees & Governors. It describes the functions, roles and responsibilities of the members of the two bodies. Trustee Governor Code of Conduct 2016

Martin Redshaw: Chair of Governors and Trustees

Martin is a former pupil of Hamilton Lodge. He is an accountant and has been a volunteer Trustee of the school for many years. He is a keen sports fan and likes to travel.


Paul Newbury: Vice Chair of Governors and Trustees

Paul is also a former pupil of Hamilton Lodge. Paul currently works as a Lead BSL Tutor and Sensory Practice Manager within the Sensory Service at a local authority.

Steve Kent: Governor and Trustee

David Sawyer: Governor and Trustee

Sue Furdas: Governor and Trustee

Charlotte Holtam: Governor and Trustee

Sue Benton-Stace: Governor and Trustee

Gail Pilling: Governor and Trustee

Sarah Dewar: Governor – Parent Representative

Lisa McCann: Governor – Parent Representative

Theresa Emm: Governor – Non-Teaching Representative

Sam Caiels: Governor – Teaching Representative

Wolfgang Mann – Governor

Billy McInally: Principal

Simon Rogers: Head of Care

Juliet Grant: Head of School & College

Tom Taylor: Business Manager

The Governors include representatives of the local community, former students, former education professionals, staff and parents. Their responsibility is to ensure that the school’s curriculum and care provision is sound, to make sure our resources are used wisely and to work with the Leadership Team and staff to ensure the highest possible standards of education and care for our pupils.

We have two parent representatives and two former pupil representatives who play an important part in the work of the Governors.


The Chair of the Governors and Trustees can be contacted via:

Hamilton Lodge School
Walpole Road
Tel: 01273 682362 (voice/minicom)



Lord Lieutenant of East Sussex – Peter Field